Where I have been….

The last several weeks have been fun, busy, exciting, and exhausting:)  We have traveled to spend time with family, worked on house projects, and just enjoyed being a family.

Personally I have been working hard on finding a good routine for myself.  Things got pretty chaotic for a while as my husband was finished up his semester and taking final exams and a little girl decided that she needed to be up several times during the night for some reason…  Things feel like they are falling into a new but better routine.  I have decided that I really need a written down daily routine.   I have been reading through the book that Flylady wrote and I have been working on putting together my own routines for the morning, noon, and night.   I have read through her site before but I hadn’t really figured out how to make her ideas work well for me.   Now I realize that I will probably have to adjust her morning and noon and evening routines for a while to figure out what works best.  I will also have to adjust it often as our life goes through changes.  But it really does help to have them written down.  If it is written down then it is one thing that my mind does not have to remember.  It also means that all I have to do it look at the sheet when I am extra tired and I will remember what to do next.  I didn’t think that it would make that much of a difference but it does.

Right now here is my morning routine: (now remember it is a work in progress)

1. Shower, dress, hair, teeth, make-up (some days I do make-up some days I skip it!)

2. Swish and swipe.  (This is quickly cleaning the sink and toilet – when I do it everyday it only takes a minute,  I also have been keeping seven small, old rags under the bathroom sink.  Then I can just grab a rag, spray some cleaner on it and wipe down the sink and toilet and floor around the sink.  Then I rinse out the rag and hang it up on a hook on the back of the toilet.  Then next day when it is dry I toss it in the laundry.)

3. make bed

4. make breakfast

5. make my husband’s lunch

6. Get my daughter up, change her diaper, dress

7. Put away clean dishes

8. 5 minutes cleaning our bedroom

9. 5 minutes picking up our daughter’s bedroom

10. Start 1 load of laundry

11. make kefir

Right now that is my morning routine.   Because of the busyness with children I don’t worry about when exactly I finish each thing.  I just work on the list as the morning progresses.  Most morning I finish the list pretty quickly but if it takes all morning because I stop and play with children then it is just fine:)  I will share my noon routine later on.

Having a list to guide my morning has helped me to get more down.   Feeling the freedom to adjust the routine and skip things has helped me to be able to stick to it without feeling to perfectionist.

Leave a comment