Book Review: That’s not my penguin… (Usborne touchy-feely books)

That's Not My Penguin (Touchy-Feely Board Books)

I recently found this book at my local library.  So far I have seen five more in the series too.  I love them!  First of all, they are board books which are great for those who are 6 months-18 months because they can turn the pages without ripping up the books.  Secondly, they have different textures on each page for your child to touch. Lastly I love these books because they have cute repetitive phases on each page.  Most touchy-feely books that I have seen for this age only have one word on each page.  I love being able to read a simple story that has rich language to my little one.  The repetitious phrases are also great for a two or three-year old that might be reading along. They love to finish the phrases on their own.  It also makes a great spring-board for playing “That’s not my….” where they are able to think of their own object and use descriptive words to describe why that object is not like their own.

Leave a comment